Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

NASCAR garage, media poll: Jeff Gordon to win Sprint Cup championship


during the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Quicken Loans Race for Heroes 500 at Phoenix International Raceway on November 15, 2015 in Avondale, Arizona.

Sean Gardner

In a very close vote in this month’s The Century Poll, Jeff Gordon is the favorite to win the Sprint Cup championship following Sunday’s Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Each month during the racing season, The Century Poll asks 100 members of the NASCAR community – 50 members in the garage and 50 members of the media – to cast votes on racing topics, issues or compelling questions.

This month’s question was: “Of the four eligible drivers, who will win the NASCAR Sprint Cup at Homestead-Miami Speedway?”

Gordon, who is seeking his fifth career Sprint Cup championship and the first since 2001, received 40 of a possible 100 votes, with an equal 20 votes from both the garage and the media.

Sunday will mark Gordon’s final career Sprint Cup race. He will retire after the race, concluding a stellar 23-year career in Sprint Cup racing and a record 797 consecutive starts.

Defending Sprint Cup champion Kevin Harvick was a close second in the voting. Harvick received 36 votes in total: 17 from the garage and 19 from the media.

Harvick is also the only driver to return from last year’s Championship 4 round.

Kyle Busch, who missed the first 11 races due to injuries suffered in a wreck in February at Daytona, came in third in the poll, receiving 21 total votes: 11 from the garage and 10 from the media.

The final championship contender, Martin Truex Jr., received just three votes in total: two from the garage and one from the media.

Follow @JerryBonkowski