Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

NASCAR issues lug nut penalties to two teams

In addition to the penalties to Chase Elliott and the No. 24 team issued by NASCAR on Tuesday, two other penalties were assessed from this past weekend’s action at Chicagoland Speedway.

In the Cup Series, Jason Ratcliff, crew chief of the No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing team (driver: Matt Kenseth), was fined $10,000 for an unsecured lug nut.

In the Xfinity Series, Jonathon Hanson, crew chief of the No. 98 Biagi DenBeste Racing (driver: Darrell Wallace Jr.), was fined $5,000 for an unsecured lug nut.

NASCAR also announced the indefinite suspension of Gilbert Garcia for violating Sections 12.1; 19, which covers behavior (substance abuse policy). It was not announced which team or which series Garcia is affiliated with.