Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Phoenix Truck starting lineup: Zane Smith wins pole

Relive Ross Chastain's video-game move at Martinsville to qualify for the Championship 4 and watch the NASCAR Cup Series season finale on Sunday, November 6 at 1:30 p.m. ET on NBC, the NBC Sports app, and

AVONDALE, Ariz. - Zane Smith, seeking his first NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship, will start on the pole for Friday night’s race at Phoenix Raceway.

He won the pole with a lap of 138.032 mph. Smith will be joined on the front row by 20-year-old Layne Riggs, who is making his third career series start. Riggs qualified at 137.825 mph.

MORE: Phoenix Truck starting lineup

Corey Heim (137.373 mph) will start third and be followed by Tanner Gray (136.986) and Stewart Friesen (136.971).

Zane Smith was the only championship contender to qualify in the top five. The other three championship contenders qualified in the top 12: Reigning series champion Ben Rhodes will start sixth, Ty Majeski will start eight and Chandler Smith will start 12th.

The Truck season finale is set for 10 p.m. ET Friday on FS1.