Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Poll: Among drivers 25 and younger, Joey Logano is a Hall of Fame lock

NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race - Qualifying

CHARLOTTE, NC - MAY 16: Joey Logano, driver of the #22 Shell-Pennzoil Ford, climbs into his car during qualifying for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Sprint All-Star Race at Charlotte Motor Speedway on May 16, 2015 in Charlotte, North Carolina. (Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images)

Getty Images

NASCAR Hall of Fame voters elected the stock-car shrine’s seventh class last week, selecting O. Bruton Smith, Terry Labonte, Jerry Cook, Curtis Turner and Bobby Isaac.

What might the class of five members look like 40 years from now?

That was the May topic of The Century Poll, which surveys 100 people – 50 from the NASCAR media corps and 50 from the NASCAR garage (including owners, drivers, crew chiefs, crew members, officials) – each month on a new issue.

Voters were given a ballot of 25 drivers born after 1990 and asked which five were most likely to reach the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

Joey Logano, who turned 25 Sunday, was the leading vote-getter, receiving 91 of 100 votes. The Team Penske driver, who has nine Sprint Cup and 24 Xfinity victories (and a Camping World Truck win), surprisingly was absent from the ballots of seven media members.

Defending Xfinity Series champion Chase Elliott, who turns 20 in November and will move into the No. 24 Chevrolet being vacated by Jeff Gordon next season, was second in overall voting.

Erik Jones, who scored his first Xfinity Series win last month and made his Cup debut in place of injured Kyle Busch at Kansas Speedway, actually was first among media (with 45 of 50 votes) and was third overall, followed by Kyle Larson, Ryan Blaney and Darrell Wallace Jr.

At least 19 drivers received a vote. Here’s the breakdown:


Joey Logano 48 43 91

Chase Elliott 45 44 89

Erik Jones 37 45 82

Kyle Larson 39 36 75

Ryan Blaney 23 22 45

Darrell Wallace Jr. 21 24 45

Austin Dillon 9 7 16

Chris Buescher 7 4 11

Ben Rhodes 3 6 9

Ben Kennedy 3 5 8

Cole Custer 6 1 7

Ty Dillon 2 3 5

Todd Gilliland 1 3 4

Brett Moffitt 4 0 4

Ross Kenseth 1 2 3

John H. Nemechek 0 2 2

Tyler Reddick 1 1 2

Gray Gaulding 0 1 1

Daniel Suarez 0 1 1

The 25 drivers on the ballot are listed below. Which five would you have chosen?

Trevor Bayne

Ryan Blaney

Chris Buescher

James Buescher

Cole Custer

Austin Dillon

Ty Dillon

Chase Elliott

Grey Gaulding

Todd Gilliland

Cameron Hayley

Erik Jones

Ben Kennedy

Ross Kenseth

Kyle Larson

Joey Logano

Brandon McReynolds

Brett Moffitt

John Hunter Nemechek

Brennan Poole

Tyler Reddick

Ryan Reed

Ben Rhodes

Daniel Suarez

Darrell Wallace Jr.