Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Report: Joe Gibbs Racing to make crew chief changes, citing unidentified sources, reports that Carl Edwards and Denny Hamlin will have new crew chiefs next season.

The report stated that Dave Rogers would move from being Hamlin’s crew chief to being Edwards’ crew chief. Rogers would replace Darian Grubb. The report states that Grubb’s role with the organization had yet to be determined.

The report also staated that Mike Wheeler, engineer on Hamlin’s team, is expected to be Hamlin’s new crew chief.

Both Hamlin and Edwards made the Chase this year for Joe Gibbs Racing, which won the Sprint Cup title with Kyle Busch.

Edwards finished fifth in the points, scoring two wins and 15 top-10 finishes. Hamlin was ninth in points with two wins and 20 top-10 finishes. Grubb completed his first season working with Edwards, who joined the organization before the 2015 season. Rogers finished his first season with Hamlin.

Follow @dustinlong