Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Riley Herbst wins pole for Truck Series opener at Daytona

AUTO: FEB 13 NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series - NextEra Energy 250

DAYTONA, FL - FEBRUARY 13: Riley Herbst, Kyle Busch Motorsports, Toyota Tundra Mobil 1 (51) during practice for the Gander RV & Outdoors Truck series NextEra Energy 250 on February 13, 2020 at Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, Florida (Photo by Jeff Robinson/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)

Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Riley Herbst will start first in tonight’s Truck Series season opener at Daytona International Speedway.

Herbst, driving Kyle Busch Motorsports’ No. 51 Toyota, qualified on the pole with a top speed of 181.657 mph.

It is Herbst’s first career pole and comes in his eighth Truck Series start. He will compete full-time in the Xfinity Series this year with Joe Gibbs Racing.

The top five is completed by Brett Moffitt, Christian Eckes, Ross Chastain and Johnny Sauter.

Austin Hill, the defending winner of this race, qualified 15th. Matt Crafton, the defending series champion, will start 10th.

Drivers who failed to make the race: Norm Benning, John Hunter Nemechek, Jennifer Jo Cobb, Ray Ciccarelli, Clay Greenfield, Joe Nemechek and Todd Peck.

Tonight’s race is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. ET on FS1.

Click here for the starting lineup.