Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Sunday Cup race at Talladega: Start time, TV info, weather

With seven different winners throughout the first nine races of the season, nearly half of the Cup playoff field is set. Kyle Petty, Steve Letarte, and Dustin Long discuss the drivers and teams they're concerned about.

The Cup Series competes at Talladega Superspeedway on Sunday and one of the key questions is if the track’s streak of different winners stretches to seven.

The last six Talladega winners have been Chase Elliott, Ross Chastain, Bubba Wallace, Brad Keselowski, Denny Hamlin and Ryan Blaney.

Sunday’s race marks the 800th career start for Kevin Harvick, who last won at Talladega in 2010.

Details for Sunday’s Cup race at Talladega Superspeedway

(All times Eastern)

START: The command to start engines will be given at 3:08 p.m. … The green flag is scheduled to wave at 3:20 p.m.

PRERACE: Cup garage opens at 12 p.m. … Drivers meeting at 2:10 p.m. … Driver introductions at 2:30 p.m. … Invocation will be given by Barbara Embry, Citizens Baptist Medical Center chaplain, at 3 p.m. … The 313th United States Army Band will perform the national anthem at 3:01 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is 188 laps (500 miles) on the 2.66-mile track.

STAGES: Stage 1 ends at Lap 60. Stage 2 ends at Lap 120.

TV/RADIO: Fox will broadcast the race at 3 p.m. ... Coverage begins with NASCAR RaceDay at 1:30 p.m. on FS1 and moving to Fox at 2 p.m. … Motor Racing Network’s radio coverage begins at 2 p.m. and also will stream at SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will carry the MRN broadcast.


FORECAST: Weather Underground - Partly cloudy with a high of 68 degrees and a zero percent chance of rain at the start of the race.

STARTING LINEUP: Talladega Cup starting lineup

LAST YEAR: Chase Elliott took the lead on the final lap to win last October’s playoff race. Ryan Blaney was second. Michael McDowell placed third. In this race last April, Ross Chastain took the lead on the final lap to win. Austin Dillon placed second. Kyle Busch finished third.


Friday 5: Letting the chaos theory play out at Talladega

Dr. Diandra: The most (and least) accident-prone drivers at Talladega

Fast times at Talladega: The year everyone reached 200 mph

NASCAR fines, penalizes Richard Childress Racing No. 3 team

Doug Yates says changes can be made to increase horsepower but challenges remain

Drivers to watch at Talladega

NASCAR official: Possible engine changes need “longer runway”

NASCAR Power Rankings: Kyle Larson jumps to No. 1