Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Team co-owned by Kyle Larson wins opening night feature at Knoxville Nationals

A Knoxville Nationals

Shane Stewart, who drives for Larson Marks Racing, the team co-owned by Kyle Larson and Justin Marks, won the 25-lap feature Wednesday in the opening night of the Knoxville Nationals.

Action continues Thursday at Knoxville Raceway with the 56th Knoxville Nationals being held Saturday night.

Wednesday’s win marked the third year in a row that Stewart has won a preliminary night feature at the Knoxville Nationals. Stewart won with a sprint car sponsored by the Jeff Gordon Foundation. Gordon was in attendance.

Donny Schatz, who has won nine of the past 10 Knoxville Nationals and drives for Tony Stewart Racing, finished second in the feature race. Daryn Pittman, who drives for Kasey Kahne Racing, was fourth. Rico Abreu, who competes in the Camping World Truck Series, placed ninth in the 24-car field. Abreu won his heat race earlier in the evening.

Full results from Wednesday’s action is here.

Thursday’s schedule includes Larson competing, along with Brad Sweet, who drives for Kasey Kahne’s team, and former NASCAR driver Dave Blaney. Also, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. will pace the field in Bryan Clauson’s car, honoring his close friend who died Sunday from injuries suffered in a midget race last weekend.

Follow @dustinlong