Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Today’s Cup race at Indianapolis: Start time, lineup and more

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Brickyard 400

INDIANAPOLIS, IN - JULY 23: Ricky Stenhouse Jr., driver of the #17 SunnyD Ford, leads a pack of cars during the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis Motorspeedway on July 23, 2017 in Indianapolis, Indiana. (Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Today marks one last chance for drivers to secure a playoff spot. Fourteen of the 16 playoff positions have been clinched. Jimmie Johnson and Alex Bowman hold the final two playoff spots but one of them would be bumped if someone not yet qualified for the playoffs wins today’s race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway to advance to the postseason.

Here are the details for today’s race:

(All times are Eastern)

START: Florida Georgia Line will give the command to start engines at 12:54 p.m. The green flag is scheduled to wave at 1:06 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is scheduled for 160 laps (400 miles) around the 2.5-mile track.

STAGES: Stage 1 ends on Lap 50. Stage 2 ends on Lap 100.

PRERACE SCHEDULE: Garage opens at 9 a.m. Driver/crew chief meeting is at 11 a.m. Driver introductions are at 12:15 p.m.

NATIONAL ANTHEM: Carly Pearce will perform the anthem at 12:47 p.m.

TV/RADIO: NBCSN will broadcast the race beginning at 1 p.m. Coverage begins with Countdown to Green at noon. Indianapolis Motor Speedway Radio Network’s radio broadcast begins at noon. SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will have the radio broadcast.

FORECAST: calls for a high of 59 degrees and a 34 percent chance of showers at the start of the race.

LAST YEAR: Kasey Kahne won in overtime, finishing ahead of Brad Keselowski and Ryan Newman.

TO THE REAR: Martin Truex Jr. and Daniel Suarez will go to the rear for failing inspection at least three times.

STARTING LINEUP: Click here for Cup starting lineup