Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Dallas’ Jason Kidd wins NBA Sportsmanship Award

Jason Kidd

Dallas Mavericks’ Jason Kidd participates in drills during an NBA basketball practice, Friday, Dec. 9, 2011, in Dallas. (AP Photo/Tony Gutierrez)


Jason Kidd, who has a personal foundation dedicated to youth education efforts, has been voted the NBA Sportsmanship Award by his peers. He will be given the Joe Dumars trophy for his efforts.

The NBA will make a $10,000 donation to The Jason Kidd Foundation, which is “dedicated to improving education among the youth, by ensuring that kids of all ages have the tools needed through mentoring, tutoring and technology programs.”

Kidd won the voting from his peers. Second place went to Shane Battier, followed by Antawn Jamison, Luke Ridnour, Jeremy Lin and Chris Paul. Each of them will receive a $5,000 donation toward the charity of their choice.

Kidd is a first-time winner. Stephen Curry won it last year, Grant Hill is a three-time winner.