Did Russell Westbrook travel in final minute?
The Oklahoma City Thunder once again caught a break on a call in the final minute of a close game.
Up three with :21 seconds left after an Andre Iguodala bucket, Russell Westbrook ultimately ends up with the inbounds pass and brought the ball up with Klay Thompson on him, then just as he got over halfcourt Westbrook stopped to call a timeout.
As he does, he drags his pivot foot. It’s clear from the video.
Is that a travel? Yes.
Joe Borgia, Sr VP Replay/Ref operations, just told us Westbrook should have been called for a travel when he dragged foot calling time.— Matt Winer (@MattWinerTV) May 17, 2016
Have NBA officials called that particular travel all season long? No. Not even close.
The NBA will once again issue a ruling in its two-minute report, and once again that will be moot because it changes nothing. Steve Kerr can play the role Gregg Popovich did last series and frustratedly shrug off the report.
Warriors fans, this call is not why you lost. Rushed shots, Stephen Curry’s off-balance game and seven turnovers, struggling with the Thunder’s bigger lineups, there were plenty of reasons Golden State dropped this game. This travel call wasn’t a key one. But once again, a Thunder opponent was robbed of a chance to even the game late because of a call.