Skip navigation
Favorites
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

NBA: Hornets got away with two key fouls in double-OT win over Jazz

Utah Jazz v Charlotte Hornets

CHARLOTTE, NC - JANUARY 18: Trey Burke #3 of the Utah Jazz drives to the basket against Cody Zeller #40 of the Charlotte Hornets during their game at Time Warner Cable Arena on January 18, 2016 in Charlotte, North Carolina. NOTE TO USER: User expressly acknowledges and agrees that, by downloading and or using this photograph, User is consenting to the terms and conditions of the Getty Images License Agreement. (Photo by Streeter Lecka/Getty Images)

Getty Images

At times, it felt like Kemba Walker against the Jazz yesterday. Walker scored 52 points in the Hornets’ double-overtime win.

But he had help – including from the referees.

The NBA’s Last Two Minute Report revealed two incorrect calls – both important, both in Charlotte’s favor.

The first came with a minute left in the first overtime:

As Utah attempted to inbound the ball, Nicolas Batum should’ve been called for fouling Gordon Hayward, the NBA ruled:

Batum (CHA) grabs and holds Hayward (UTA) affecting his ability to cleanly catch the inbounds pass

That would’ve given the Jazz a free throw and the ball.

Still, they forced second overtime – only to get hosed on another key call.

With 3:04 left, Cody Zeller plainly pushed Trey Burke, who was attempting to save a loose ball. The NBA deemed that should’ve been a foul:

Zeller (CHA) pushes Burke (UTA) affecting his ability to save the ball from going OOB.

Instead of Utah getting the ball, Charlotte kept it.

Then, for good measure, Walker hit a 3-pointer to give the Hornets a six-point lead – the biggest in the game’s final 16 minutes.