Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Bettis, Brown, Carter, Doleman, Haley miss first cut

Through the first 23 minutes of the Hall of Fame announcement show, we’ve learned only one things.

Well, actually two.

First, Michael Irvin thinks that Marshall Faulk was Emmitt Smith on steroids. Second, we learned the five names who were omitted when the class of 15 modern-era finalists was cut to 10.

Forced to wait at least another year were Jerome Bettis, Tim Brown, Cris Carter, Chris Doleman, and Charles Haley.

Still alive are Dermontti Dawson, Richard Dent, Marshall Faulk, Cortez Kennedy, Curtis Martin, Andre Reed, Willie Roaf, Ed Sabol, Deion Sanders, and Shannon Sharpe.