Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Four coaches named to subcommittee of Competition Committee

Ron Rivera

Carolina Panthers head coach Ron Rivera is seen on the si deines during the second half of an NFL football game against the Chicago Bearsin Chicago, Sunday, Oct. 28, 2012. (AP Photo/Charles Rex Arbogast)


The NFL Competition Committee comes up with proposed rules changes every year, a process that involves input from groups of players and coaches before proposals are put in front of the owners for a vote.

The Coaches Subcommittee got some new members on Monday when the league announced that Commissioner Roger Goodell named four head coaches to the group. Panthers coach Ron Rivera, Dolphins coach Joe Philbin, Vikings coach Leslie Frazier and Falcons coach Mike Smith are the new members of the group, which is chaired by John Madden.

Steelers coach Mike Tomlin was a member of the group from 2009 until he was bumped up to the full Competition Committee earlier this year. The coaches group meets via conference call to discuss issues of safety, technology and competition and then reports to the full committee at the league meetings each year.

Ravens coach John Harbaugh, Chiefs coach Andy Reid and Giants coach Tom Coughlin round out the subcommittee.