Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Harper, Hanson round out the Week Two players of the week

Kansas City Chiefs v Detroit Lions

DETROIT - SEPTEMBER 18: Jason Hanson #4 of the Detroit Lions celebrates after kicking the extra point in the second quarter of the game against the Kansas City Chiefs at Ford Field on September 18, 2011 in Detroit, Michigan. Jason Hanson has played 297 games in the National Football League, setting an NFL record for most games with one team. (Photo by Leon Halip/Getty Images)

Getty Images

We’ve previously mentioned that Tony Romo, Tom Brady, Antonio Cromartie, and Josh Cribbs have won the NFC offensive player of the week award, AFC offensive player of the week award, AFC defensive player of the week award, and AFC special teams player of the week award, respectively.

There are two more that we’ve yet to mention.

Saints safety Roman Harper is the NFC defensive player of the week, and Lions kicker Jason Hanson is the NFC special-teams player of the week.

Harper had seven tackles, two sacks, and a forced fumble. Hanson scored 12 points in Detroit’s 48-3 win over the Chiefs.

But this is also the spot where we recognize the nominees.

For the AFC offensive player of the week, a whopping 14 other guys were under consideration: Pats receiver Deion Branch (eight catches for 129 yards), Titans receiver Kenny Britt (nine catches for 135 and a touchdown), Bengals quarterback Andy Dalton (27-of-41 for 332 yards, two touchdowns, no interceptions), Broncos receiver Eric Decker (five catches for 113 yards and two touchdowns), Bills quarterback Ryan Fitzpatrick (28-of-46 for 264 yards, three touchdowns, and an interception), Bengals receiver A.J. Green (10 catches for 124 yards and a touchdown), Pats tight end Rob Gronkowski (four catches for 86 yards and two touchdowns), Browns running back Peyton Hillis (27 carries for 94 yards and two touchdowns), Bills running back Fred Jackson (15 carries for 117 yards and two touchdowns), Jets tight end Dustin Keller (six catches for 101 yards and a touchdown), Raiders running back Darren McFadden (143 yards from scrimmage and two touchdowns), Bengals receiver Jerome Simpson (four catches for 136 yards), Dolphins running back Daniel Thomas (18 carries for 107 yards), and Steelers receiver Mike Wallace (eight catches for 126 yards and a touchdown).

For AFC defensive player of the week, Bills linebacker Nick Barnett (14 tackles and a forced fumble), Pats linebacker Jerod Mayo (11 tackles), Pats defensive tackle Vince Wilfork (28-yard interception return), and Broncos linebacker Wesley Woodyard (13 tackles and a pass defensed) were the nominees.

For AFC special-teams player of the week, Broncos punter Britton Colquitt and Colts kicker Adam Vinatieri were nominated.

In the NFC, the nominees other than Romo were Cowboys receiver Miles Austin (nine catches for 143 yards and two touchdowns), Bucs running back LeGarrette Blount (nine rushes for 71 yards and two touchdowns), Saints quarterback Drew Brees (26-of-37 for 270 yards, three touchdowns, no interceptions), Falcons tight end Tony Gonzalez (seven catches for 83 yards and two touchdowns), Redskins running back Roy Helu (112 yards from scrimmage), Vikings running back Adrian Peterson (nine attempts for 120 yards and two touchdowns), Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers (19-of-30 for 308 yards, two touchdowns, no interceptions), and Lions quarterback Matthew Stafford (23-of-39 for 294 yards, four touchdowns, and one interception).

The nominees for the NFC defensive player of the week award were Giants linebacker Michael Boley (six tackles and a 65-yard fumble return for a touchdown), Redskins linebacker London Fletcher (five tackles and an interception), Bucs linebacker Mason Foster (10 tackles, a sack, and a forced fumble), Cowboys linebacker DeMarcus Ware (two tackles and two sacks), Packers cornerback Charles Woodson (two interceptions, a fumble recovery, and five tackles), and Lions cornerback Eric Wright (four tackles, an interception, a forced fumble, and two passes defensed).

And for the NFC special-teams player of the week award, the nominees were Cowboys kicker Dan Bailey, Redskins kicker Graham Gano, Bucs punter Michael Koenen, and Saints punter Thomas Morstead.