Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Kevin Faulk elected to Patriots Hall of Fame

Miami Dolphins v New England Patriots

FOXBORO, MA - DECEMBER 24: Kevin Faulk #33 of the New England Patriots runs during a game against the Miami Dolphins at Gillette Stadium on December 24, 2011 in Foxboro, Massachusetts. (Photo by Jim Rogash/Getty Images)

Getty Images

The Patriots have elected one former player or coach to the team’s Hall of Fame each year since 2007 and the team announced Wednesday that running back Kevin Faulk will be inducted this year.

Faulk joined the Patriots as a second-round pick in 1999 and remained with the team through the 2011 season. That period covered the birth of the Bill Belichick era and Faulk played a big role on teams that went to five Super Bowls. He is the all-time franchise leader in all-purpose yards and kickoff return yards and ranks fifth among all Patriots in rushing yards and receptions.

“Kevin Faulk helped deliver three Super Bowl championships and redefined the way an entire generation of Patriots fans celebrated football in New England,” owner Robert Kraft said in a statement. “Despite entering the NFL as the second-leading rusher in SEC history, he arrived in New England without ego or pretense. He was a selfless and tireless contributor to the team, accepting every challenge and excelling in many roles throughout his 13-year career.”

It was the first year that Faulk was eligible to be elected and he joins Troy Brown and Tedy Bruschi as honorees with three Super Bowl rings as members of the Patriots. Cornerback Raymond Clayborn and linebacker Mike Vrabel, who also won three rings in New England, were the other finalists.