Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

NFC honors Eli Manning, Ronde Barber, Dan Bailey

New York Giants v Houston Texans

HOUSTON - OCTOBER 10: Quarterback Eli Manning #10 of the New York Giants looks over plays with offensive coordinator Kevin Gilbride during a football game against the Houston Texans at Reliant Stadium on October 10, 2010 in Houston, Texas. (Photo by Bob Levey/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Giants quarterback Eli Manning, Buccaneers cornerback Ronde Barber and Cowboys kicker Dan Bailey are the NFC offensive, defensive and special teams players of the week for Week Three.

Manning went 16-of-23 for 254 yards with four touchdowns and no interceptions in the Giants’ 29-16 win at Philadelphia. His passer rating of 145.7 was his single-game high, and he became the first opposing quarterback to throw four touchdown passes in a victory at Philadelphia since Joe Montana in 1989. This is Manning’s second career player of the week award.

Barber had an interception, a fumble recovery, four tackles and three passes defensed in the Buccaneers’ 16-13 win over the Falcons. The game was Barber’s 186th consecutive start, which is the NFL record for a cornerback. This is Barber’s eighth career Player of the Week Award.

Bailey went 6-for-6 on field goals and made a game-winning 40-yarder in the Cowboys’ 18-16 win over the Redskins. He tied Garo Yepremian (1966) and Jeff Reed (2002) for the most field goals by a rookie in a single game.

The other nominees for offensive player of the week were Saints quarterback Drew Brees, Giants receiver Victor Cruz, Packers tight end Jermichael Finley, Lions receiver Calvin Johnson, Lions tight end Brandon Pettigrew and Lions quarterback Matthew Stafford.

The other nominees for defensive player of the week were Vikings defensive end Jared Allen, Packers safety Morgan Burnett, Cowboys linebacker Sean Lee, Giants defensive end Jason Pierre-Paul and Lions linebacker Stephen Tulloch.

The other nominees for special teams player of the week were Bucs kicker Connor Barth and Lions kicker Jason Hanson.