Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

NFLPA to elect executive director on Sunday night


For those media members covering the NFL who stayed up late multiple nights during the first wave of free agency, it’s time to wash the coffee pot.

The NFL Players Association will be electing an executive director on Sunday night, with the first of what could be up to eight rounds of voting. Via Liz Mullen of SportsBusiness Journal, the voting commences at roughly 6:30 p.m. Hawaii time. Which is 12:30 a.m. ET.

Before the voting, the nine candidates will supplement their Saturday presentations of up to 40 minutes with 25-minute breakout sessions in each of four rooms. Then, they’ll have 15 minutes each to make final presentations.

If any candidate gets 17 or more votes in any round of voting, that candidate wins. At least one candidate will be dropped each round, and another round will begin immediately after each one ends.

The candidates are incumbent DeMaurice Smith and eight challengers: Jim Acho, Jason Belser, Sean Gilbert, Robert Griffith, Rob London, Arthur McAfee, John Stufflebeam, and Andrew Smith.

Why so many candidates? With only three nominations from the 32 player representatives needed and no limit on how many nominations any rep can make, some reps made more than one nomination.

Before the sun comes up at the NFLPA offices in Washington, D.C., the reps will be picking one executive director to run the organization for the next three years.