Skip navigation
Favorites
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

RAVENS GET SCREWED

In a stunning replay ruling that will make referee Walt “Tuck Rule” Coleman roughly as popular in Baltimore as he is in Oakland, the Steelers received a late touchdown on a play in which it appeared to be fairly clear that the ball was not in the end zone at the time Santonio Holmes acquired possession of it. The ruling on the field was that the ball did not break the plane of the end zone once Holmes caught it. And this means that the call should have been overturned only with conclusive visual evidence -- as Seahawks coach Mike Holmgren once explained it, 50 drunks in a bar would all have to agree -- that it was a touchdown. Sorry, Steelers fans. It wasn’t a touchdown. The Steelers lead by four, 13-9, with time running out and the Ravens inside the Pittsburgh 40, thanks to a personal foul called against kicker Jeff Reed on the extra point try. UPDATE: It’s over. Steelers win, and secure the AFC North title. SECOND UPDATE: We’ll be taking a closer look at the ruling for our SportingNews.com Ten-Pack. Until then, we’ll leave it to the commenters to continue to debate the application of “Rule 32-a-e,” which we find to be fascinating because Rule 32 doesn’t exist. Meanwhile, Robert Littal of BlackSportsOnline.com has posted the video of the play.

[yt]67CXdDQhwVU[/yt]