Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

All four NHL divisions will be sponsored for 2020-21 season

nhl puck tracking

DETROIT, MI - NOVEMBER 08: A picture in the penalty box of this years official game pucks NHL logo turns purple once frozen before the start of an NHL game between the Detroit Red Wings and the Boston Bruins at Little Caesars Arena on November 8, 2019 in Detroit, Michigan. Detroit defeated Boston 4-2. (Photo by Dave Reginek/NHLI via Getty Images)

NHLI via Getty Images

The four realigned NHL divisions will be sponsored for the 2020-21 season. The 56-game schedule beginning Jan. 13 will see divisional naming rights for the first time in league history.

The all-Canadian Scotia NHL North Division will feature the Flames, Oilers, Canadiens, Senators, Maple Leafs, Canucks, and Jets. The Ducks, Coyotes, Avalanche, Kings, Wild, Sharks, Blues, and Golden Knights will make up the Honda NHL West Division. It will be the Hurricanes, Blackhawks, Blue Jackets, Stars, Red Wings, Panthers, Predators, and Lightning in the Discover NHL Central Division. Finally, the Mass Mutual East Division will see the Bruins, Sabres, Devils, Islanders, Rangers, Flyers, Penguins, and Capitals.

It’s understood that these deals are only for this season as the COVID-19 pandemic forced the NHL to realign. It’s expected that the 2021-22 season will see a return of the Metropolitan, Atlantic, Central, and Pacific Division names.

There are currently 13 NHL teams with helmet sponsors this season and other methods revenue generating methods may be coming. With few fans in arenas this season, recouping losses will be an important goal for the league and its teams.


Sean Leahy is a writer for Pro Hockey Talk on NBC Sports. Drop him a line at or follow him on Twitter @Sean_Leahy.