Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Campbell becomes first defenseman to win Lady Byng since 1954

Brian Campbell

Florida’s Brian Campbell has accomplished something not done by a defenseman since Detroit’s Red Kelly in 1954: he has won the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy.

The award is given to the “player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.” Basically, it’s handed to the star player who does the most to minimize his time in the penalty box.

Campbell is certainly a worthy recipient after recording 53 points and just six penalty minutes in 82 games.

The award was voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association and Campbell only narrowly edged out his fellow finalists, Edmonton’s Jordan Eberle and the New York Islanders’ Matt Moulson. Campbell had 582 points to Eberle’s 518 and Moulson’s 517.

Recent Winners:
2006-09 - Pavel Datsyuk (Detroit)
2010-11 - Martin St. Louis (Tampa Bay)