Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Campbell, Eberle and Moulson are your Lady Byng candidates

Brian Campbell

The Lady Byng Memorial Trophy isn’t the most coveted award in the NHL. In fact, it’s the only award that can be used as an insult. As in, “They’re not going to win if (blank) keeps playing like a Lady Byng candidate.”

But its list of winners still includes names like Wayne Gretzky, Pavel Datsyuk, Martin St. Louis, Ron Francis, Mike Bossy, Marcel Dionne, and numerous other stars.

Besides, even in a tough sport like hockey, there’s nothing wrong with being the “player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.”

This year’s nominees, as announced today by the NHL, are Brian Campbell (Panthers), Jordan Eberle (Oilers) and Matt Moulson (Islanders).

If we had to pick a favorite, we’d give it to Campbell, if only because he’s played a lot more games than the other two. Though of his three minor penalties this season, one of them was for slashing, and that’s not very gentlemanly at all.