Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Chicago Blackhawks clinch Central division title

Kris Versteeg, Jonathan Toews, Duncan Keith, Marian Hossa

Chicago Blackhawks’ Duncan Keith (2), Jonathan Toews, left, and Marian Hossa, of Slovakia, celebrates with Kris Versteeg, right, after Versteeg scored to tie the game during the third period of an NHL hockey game against the New Jersey Devils Friday, April 2, 2010 in Newark, N.J. The Blackhawks beat the Devils 2-1 in a shootout. (AP Photo/Bill Kostroun)


My guess is that Blackhawk fans were cheering about more than just a free Egg McMuffin this afternoon. Thanks to Detroit’s loss, Chicago is now officially the 2009-10 Central division champions.

The Blackhawks’ official site features some really interesting tidbits that highlight the fact that a) this is one of the best seasons the team ever produced and b) it’s been a long time since they’ve been so great.

Chicago last captured its division when it earned the Norris Division crown during the 1992-93 season, finishing with a 47-25-12 (106 points) record.

The 2009-10 season marks the first time in 38 years the Blackhawks have registered consecutive 100-point seasons, while the 2010 Stanley Cup playoffs will mark the first time in 13 years Chicago will make consecutive postseason appearances.

The Blackhawks are currently one victory away from matching the franchise record set in both 1970-71 and 1990-91 and four points away from tying the club record set in both 1970-71 and 1971-72. Chicago is also two points away from increasing its regular-season point total for the sixth consecutive season.

While some are fixated on problems in net and lapses in their defensive system, it’s important to note just how dramatic the team’s turnaround has been. In just a few years the team has gone from near-dead to a league-wide sensation.

Congratulations to the Blackhawks and all their fans for a great achievement and an impressive season overall. It will be interesting to see how far they can go in this year’s playoffs.