Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Craig Janney, 1996 World Cup team and Bill Belisle make up 2016 U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame class

The 1996 World Cup team, Bill Belisle and Craig Janney will all enter the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame in 2016.

“This is a truly magnificent class,” said USA Hockey president Jim Smith. “Each member of the Class of 2016 has had an extraordinary impact on our sport and is most deserving to take their place among the hockey immortals in the United States.”

The 1996 team had one of the greatest runs by an American team in an international hockey tournament. USA won the title after going 6-0-1 in the tournament and beating Canada in a best-of-three final in Montreal.

The U.S. received great contributions from several players, but three stood out. Brett Hull led all players with seven goals and 11 points in the competition. Defenseman Brian Leetch shared the tournament lead in assists with seven, while goalie Mike Richter was named tournament MVP.

Bill Belisle will begin his 42nd season as the head coach of the Mount Saint Charles Academy boys’ hockey team. Under Belisle’s watch, the team won 26 consecutive state titles from 1978-2003. In all, Belisle has won 32 state championships with Mount Saint Charles.

Belisle also played hockey for the school and won a state championship as a player in 1947. He was inducted into the Mount Saint Charles hall of fame in 2014.

20 of his players got drafted in the NHL including Bryan Berard and Brian Lawton, who were both first overall picks in their respective draft years.

Craig Janney played 12 seasons in the NHL after being selected 13th overall by Boston in the ’86 Entry Draft. Janney played 760 NHL games with Boston, St. Louis, San Jose, Winnipeg, Phoenix, Tampa Bay and the Islanders. He scored 188 goals and 751 points during his NHL career.

On the international stage, Janney helped the USA win bronze at the 1986 World Junior Hockey Championship and he was also part of the team that went to the Canada Cup Final in 1991.