Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Erik Karlsson captures the Norris Trophy

Erik Karlsson

Ottawa Senators defenseman Erik Karlsson (65) celebrates his third period goal against the Florida Panthers of an NHL hockey game in Sunrise, Fla. Thursday, March 10, 2011. (AP Photo/Steve Mitchell)


Erik Karlsson signed a seven-year/$45.5 million contract extension with the Ottawa Senators on Tuesday. Just one day later, he won the Norris Trophy, which goes to the defenseman who demonstrates “the greatest
all-around ability in the position.”

The other nominees were Boston’s Zdeno Chara and Nashville’s Shea Weber.

The winner is selected by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association. Karlsson just barely edged Weber by a score of 1,069 to 1,057 in the voting.

Karlsson scored 19 goals and 78 points in 81 games in 2011-12. The next best defensemen, Dustin Byfuglien and Brian Campbell finished with 53 points.

This was Karlsson’s first nomination for the award and the first time a member of the Ottawa Senators has captured the trophy.

Recent Winners:
2006-08 - Nicklas Lidstrom
2009 - Zdeno Chara
2010 - Duncan Keith
2011 - Nicklas Lidstrom