Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Get your NHL awards odds (Kane heavily favored to win Hart)

With the trade deadline approaching Feb. 29 teams are already making memorable moves, but which team has done the best job at bettering their Stanley Cup hopes? Anson Carter says hands down it has to be the Blackhawks.

Online bookmaker Bovada has posted its odds to win the NHL’s major individual awards, and according to the oddsmakers, the races aren’t very close at all.

At 1/5, Chicago’s Patrick Kane is the heavy favorite to win the Hart Trophy (MVP), which no American-born player has ever won. Braden Holtby is next at 10/3, followed by Erik Karlsson at 13/2, Jamie Benn (12/1), Sidney Crosby (15/1), Tyler Seguin (25/1), and Alex Ovechkin (30/1).

Another Blackhawks forward, Artemi Panarin, is heavily favored to win the Calder Trophy (rookie of the year). Panarin is at 3/10, followed by Connor McDavid (5/1), Shayne Gostisbehere (7/1), and Dylan Larkin (7/1).

Holtby, meanwhile, is the front-runner for the Vezina Trophy (top goalie). He’s at 2/5, followed by Corey Crawford (7/5), Henrik Lundqvist (5/1) and Cory Schneider (10/1).

On to the Norris Trophy (top defenseman), which Karlsson is favored to receive for the third time (1/4). Drew Doughty (who’s never won it) is next at 3/1, followed by John Klingberg (10/1).

Finally, there’s the Rocket Richard Trophy (most goals), where the big favorite is Ovechkin (1/20, 40 goals), followed by Kane (9/2, 36 goals), Benn (12/1, 32 goals), and Seguin (20/1, 32 goals).

Naturally, there will be disagreement over these odds. The voting for the Norris Trophy, for example, is going to be extremely interesting. Because while Karlsson is the runaway leader in points by a defenseman (67, which is 13 more than second-place Brent Burns), many view Doughty (40 points) as the superior player overall.

Not to mention, the Senators are likely to miss the playoffs while the Kings are almost guaranteed to make them. Could that be a factor? It was the opposite scenario last season, when the Sens were surprise qualifiers and the Kings were surprise misses. And remember that Doughty actually received more first-place Norris votes than Karlsson did last year.

No odds were posted for the Art Ross Trophy (Kane has a 15-point lead in the scoring race) or Selke Trophy (Patrice Bergeron is the two-time defending recipient.)

Related: Karlsson edges Doughty for Norris Trophy