Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Masterton nominees include Doan, Darling and Dubnyk

Devan Dubnyk

Minnesota Wild goalie Devan Dubnyk celebrates after his team defeated the Colorado Avalanche 1-0 in an NHL hockey game in St. Paul, Minn., Saturday, Feb. 7, 2015. (AP Photo/Ann Heisenfelt)


The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy is awarded to the player that “best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication.” It was awarded last year to Rangers forward Dominic Moore, who lost his wife, Katie, to cancer in January of 2013.

This year’s 30 nominees (one for each team) can be found here at the website of the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Nominees include Arizona’s Shane Doan, whose bout with Rocky Mountain spotted fever was well-documented; Chicago’s Scott Darling, who started his pro career with the Louisiana IceGators of the Southern Professional Hockey League; and Minnesota’s Devan Dubnyk, whose NHL career has been resurrected in a most remarkable way this season.

Here’s video of Moore from June: