Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

NCAA hockey championship bracket announced

2016 NCAA Division I Men's Hockey Championships - Semifinals

TAMPA, FLORIDA - APRIL 07: Will Butcher #4 of the Denver Pioneers clears the puck for teammate Tanner Jaillet #36 in the first period against the North Dakota Fighting Hawks during semifinals of the 2016 NCAA Division I Men’s Hockey Championships at Amalie Arena on April 7, 2016 in Tampa, Florida. (Photo by Elsa/Getty Images)

Getty Images

On Sunday the NCAA revealed the 16 teams that will be participating in the 2017 hockey tournament.

The University of Denver, which is led by Troy Terry and Will Butcher enters the tournament as the No. 1 overall seed. Butcher, still unsigned as a draft pick by the Colorado Avalanche, is one of the top defensemen in the country and one of the 10 finalists for the Hobey Baker Award as the country’s top player.

Also earning No. 1 seeds were Minnesota-Duluth, Harvard and the University of Minnesota.

The tournament begins on March 24 and concludes on April 6-8 with the Frozen Four in Chicago.

Here are the complete brackets for each region:

Midwest Regional, March 25-26

U.S. Bank Arena, Cincinnati, Ohio

Saturday, March 25, 1 p.m. ET

No. 1 Denver (29-7-4) vs. No. 4 Michigan Tech (23-14-7)

Saturday, March 25, 4:30 p.m. ET

No. 2 Union (NY) (25-9-3) vs. No. 3 Penn State (24-11-2)

Sunday, March 26, 6 p.m. ET

Midwest Regional Championship

Northeast Regional, March 25-26

SNHU Arena, Manchester, New Hampshire

Saturday, March 25, 3:30 p.m. ET

No. 1 Minnesota (23-11-3) vs. No. 4 Notre Dame (21-11-5)

Saturday, March 25, 12 p.m. ET

No. 2 Massachusetts Lowell (26-10-3) vs. No. 3 Cornell (21-8-5)

Sunday, March 26, 3:30 p.m. ET

Northeast Regional Championship

East Regional, March 24-25

Dunkin’ Donuts Center, Providence, Rhode Island

Friday, March 24, 4 p.m. ET

No. 1 Harvard (26-5-2) vs. No. 4 Providence (22-11-5)

Friday, March 24, 7:30 p.m. ET

No. 2 Western Michigan (22-12-5) vs. No. 3 Air Force (26-9-5)

Saturday, March 25, 8:30 p.m. ET

East Regional Championship

West Regional, March 24-25

Scheels Arena, Fargo, North Dakota

Friday, March 24, 6:30 p.m. ET

No. 1 Minnesota Duluth (25-6-7) vs. No. 4 Ohio State (21-11-6)

Friday, March 24, 3 p.m. ET

No. 2 Boston University (23-11-3) vs. No. 3 North Dakota (21-15-3)

Saturday, March 25, 6 p.m. ET

West Regional Championship

The midwest regional champion will face the northeast champion in the semifinals on Thursday April 6, while the east champion will face the west champion.

The championship game will be held on Saturday April 8 with an 8 p.m. ET puck drop.