Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Poll: Who will win the 2012 Lady Byng Trophy?

Lady Byng

As mentioned earlier, the NHL has named Brian Campbell, Jordan Eberle and Matt Moulson its finalists for the 2012 Lady Byng Award.

Okay, look...both you and I know neither of us is super stoked on reading about the sportsmanship award. So I’m going to bypass the usual lengthy preamble and give the straight goods:

-- This award is voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association, meaning it’ll probably go to the guy that’s nicest to the media (or, less jerkish than the others.) That’s just how hockey writers work. There are grapes with thicker skin.

-- Campbell and Moulson had six PIM, Eberle had 10. That said, four of Moulson’s came on a single play, when he received a double-minor roughing penalty against Calgary. I feel this both hurts and helps his chances of winning. Hurts because he must’ve done something fairly egregious to get a double roughing minor, helps because he essentially took one penalty over an 81 game span. That’s pretty good.

Onto the poll...

[polldaddy poll=6163656]