Russians claim Quick dislodged net on disallowed goal (w/video)
What would a classic hockey game be without a little controversy?
Following a dramatic 3-2 shootout loss to the Americans on Friday, Russian players spoke about the disallowed goal call late in the third period that nullified what would’ve been a crucial Russian lead.
“Nobody touched the net,” Alex Ovechkin said, per the Chicago Sun-Times. “The goalie touched the net and pulled it out. But the referee didn’t give him two minutes.”
Miss the game? Watch OT and the shootout at 8 pm ET on NBC“The goalie” in question is Jonathan Quick, who was unable to stop Tyutin’s point shot with 4:40 left in the third period. But the Americans caught a break when replay showed Quick’s goal was off its moorings -- and that’s where it gets interesting. According to Russian defenseman Slava Voynov, a teammate of Quick’s in Los Angeles, the American goalie has reputation for dislodging his own net.
Voynov on Quick dislodging the net before the Tyutin disallowed goal: “I play with him. I know that’s his style.” #USAvRUS
— Dmitry Chesnokov (@dchesnokov) February 15, 2014
Here’s an overhead image of the dislodged goal:
Questioner in Russian says he talked to players who said Quick is known for “trick” of lifting net off moorings and says “we” lost because— Helene Elliott (@helenenothelen) February 15, 2014
Of that. Russian coach far more diplomatic. Says he thought officials made mistake but he’s looking forward now— Helene Elliott (@helenenothelen) February 15, 2014
In related news, American head coach Dan Bylsma praised Quick for his “exceptional” play against Russia -- Quick stopped 29 of 31 shots in regulation/OT and five of eight shootout attempts -- but did leave the door open for Ryan Miller to play against Slovenia in the final preliminary round game.