Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Some controversy in Tuesday’s OT game-winners


James OBrien

With 3-on-3 OT in effect, sometimes the action can feel like the Wild West.

Maybe that explains why players may or may not be able to get away with what should be a penalty.

Arizona Coyotes fans were howling over the New Jersey Devils’ 3-2 OT winner, and it’s easy to see why. It sure looked like Adam Larsson got away with a cross-check to the back of Martin Hanzal before eventually scoring a pretty winner (which was reminiscent of Lee Stempniak’s OT GWG, right down to an over-the-top celebration):

At the moment, Dave Tippett isn’t engaging the subject:

As great a game as Pittsburgh’s 3-2 OT win against Florida was for Sidney Crosby (one goal, two assists), this Evgeni Malkin clincher required a review:

The Panthers had a no-goal earlier in the game, so it wasn’t a great review night for the Cats. Here’s the league explanation for Malkin’s winner standing:

At 1:21 of overtime in the Florida Panthers/Pittsburgh Penguins game, Florida requested a Coach’s Challenge. However, Rule 78.8 explains that “in the final minute of play in the 3rd period and at any point in Overtime (Regular Season and Playoffs), Hockey Operations will initiate the review of any scenario that would otherwise be subject to a Coach’s Challenge.” Hockey Operations had previously confirmed that the Penguins entered the zone legally prior to Evgeni Malkin’s goal. The call on the ice stands - good goal Pittsburgh Penguins.