Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

U.S., Russia Finland in same group at 2020 hockey worlds

From the Blue Jackets shocking sweep of the Lightning in Round 1 to the Sharks' miraculous Game 7 comeback, catch all the greatest performances of the 2019 Stanley Cup Playoffs.

ZURICH (AP) -- The United States, Russia and defending champion Finland will join host Switzerland in an eight-team group based in Zurich at the 2020 hockey world championships.

The International Ice Hockey Federation announced the groups Tuesday, two days after Finland beat Canada in this year’s title game in Slovakia.

Top-ranked Canada heads the other eight-team group, which also includes 2017 and ’18 champion Sweden, in Lausanne. The venue is being built for the 2020 Youth Winter Olympics.

The 2020 worlds will be played from May 8-24.


More AP sports: and