Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Video: Avs score early, but was there goalie interference?

Holden goal

If the Colorado Avalanche end up winning Game 7 of their series against the Minnesota Wild by a single goal, it will be a controversial conclusion in the eyes of some.

Avalanche forward Nick Holden scored a power-play goal just 2:52 minutes into the game, but Wild goalie Darcy Kuemper had been knocked down by Jamie McGinn. The marker initially didn’t count, but was then ruled a good goal.

As the Star Tribune’s Michael Russo pointed out, incidental contact isn’t something that can be subjected to a video review. That’s something some prominent people would like to see change.

Roberto Luongo took this opportunity to share his thoughts on the subject:

Hey it’s only the season on the line. No reason at all to have video review on an interference play like that! Makes total sense #brutal

— Strombone (@strombone1) May 1, 2014

McGinn scored for the Avalanche later in the period to give them a 2-1 lead.


The NHL has released the following statement -

At 2:52 of the first period in the Minnesota Wild/Colorado Avalanche game, Colorado’s Nick Holden shot the puck into the Minnesota net in a legal fashion. The in-zone referee initially waved his arms after the puck crossed the goal line as a reaction to a potential infraction for high-sticking the puck. The on-ice officials then huddled regarding the play to discuss if it was a good hockey goal and agreed the goal would stand. Good goal Colorado.

Follow @RyanDadoun