Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Video: Brayden Schenn’s overtime breakaway goal counts after review

Los Angeles Kings v Philadelphia Flyers

Brayden Schenn

Getty Images

Brayden Schenn handed Philadelphia a 3-2 overtime victory over the Los Angeles Kings by scoring on a breakaway, but he didn’t know it at first.

It was originally ruled no goal, presumably based on the belief that Schenn pushed goaltender Jonathan Quick into the net. However, upon further review the call was reversed and the Flyers won the game.

You can see that goal below:

Quick wasn’t happy with the ruling.

“I know I was (pushed into the net),” Quick said, per LA Kings Insider. “I didn’t ‘feel.’ I know. So that should be no goal. I don’t know how that goes upstairs and still they get it wrong. I don’t know the exact ruling on that because they seem to change it every year, but usually you’re not allowed to push a goalie into the net, so I don’t know. Maybe they changed it again on us.”

The Flyers acquired Schenn from Los Angeles in the Mike Richards trade. Speaking of Richards, he’s the reason the Kings walked away with a point as he netted the game-tying goal at 5:01 of the third period.

Follow @RyanDadoun