Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Video: Why Ryan Callahan’s 3-2 goal counted


The New Jersey Devils currently hold a 3-2 lead in Game 5 of the Eastern Conference finals, but the New York Rangers are very much in the game after falling behind 3-0. If New York manages to win - particularly by a goal - then Ryan Callahan’s controversial early second period tally will be quite controversial. Take a look at the replay yourself to decide if it was - to quote the official - “a good hockey goal.”’s Situation Room blog provides the following explanation for why the goal was allowed.

At 0:32 of the second period in the Rangers/Devils game, video review upheld the referee’s call on the ice that Artem Anisimov’s cross-ice pass deflected off Ryan Callahan’s leg and into the Devils’ net. According to rule 78.4 “if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed.” Good Goal New York.

Do you agree or disagree with that interpretation?