Oregon Ducks win back-to-back Pac-12 Championships


The Oregon Ducks have done it again. 

Dana Altman and the Ducks have won the regular-season Pac-12 Championship for the second consecutive season after defeating Oregon State 80-67, making it the first time Oregon has gone back-to-back since 2017. 

All in all, the Ducks have won at least a share of the conference regular-season title four times since the 2015-16 season, three of those titles have been outright. 

Sunday's win was the first time the Ducks have won at Gill Coliseum in four seasons. 

[Listen to the latest Talkin’ Ducks Podcast with host Jordan Kent]

Earlier in the season, sandwiched by COVID-19 stoppages within the Ducks schedule, Oregon lost at home to the Beavers while fielding only eight scholarship players, snapping a 28-game home winning streak. That loss to the Beavers has been cited as a "bad loss" by bracketologists who predicted Oregon would be a lower-seeded at-large team, likely an eight-seed or lower. 

The Ducks were without Chris Duarte and LJ Figueroa due to COVID-19 protocols that game and Will Richardson continued to heal from preseason left thumb surgery. Those three starters combined for 42 points Sunday evening while spending a combined nine minutes on the bench. In the first half alone, Richardson had a career-high five three-pointers, making all of his attempts. 


Now since winning the Pac-12 and finishing the regular-season winning ten of eleven games, ESPN's Joe Lunardi has the Ducks as a six-seed. Oregon should only rise assuming a good showing in the conference tournament.  

Dana Altman has coached the Ducks to four regular-season Pac-12 titles (2015-16, 2016-17, 2019-20, 2020-21) since taking the job at Oregon as well as winning the Pac-12 Tournament three times (2012-13, 2015-16, 2018-19) in eleven seasons. 

Next up, Altman will aim for a fourth Pac-12 Tournament Championship. Oregon has only won the Pac-12 regular-season championship and the conference tournament in the same season once: 2015-16 when Oregon earned the lone No. 1 seed in program history. 

Oregon will be the No. 1 seed in the 2021 Pac-12 Tournament and will play the winner of No. 8 Arizona State and No. 9 Washington State on Thursday, March 11th at 11:30 a.m. on Pac-12 Network.