Ducks five-star quarterback Ty Thompson earns Maxwell Offensive Player of the Year Award


The Ty Thompson hype train keeps rolling on. 

Oregon football’s incoming five-star quarterback from Mesquite High School in Gilbert, Arizona has been awarded the Maxwell Football Club Offensive Player of the Year award. 

Download and subscribe to the Talkin’ Ducks Podcast.

Barrett Carter from North Gwinnett High School in Suwanee Georgia was awarded the Defensive Player of the Year award.

“Leadership, innovation and an indisputable drive to be the best are attributes that Ty, Barrett and adidas share,” said Ryan Lacey, Director of Grassroots Sports Marketing for adidas. “We got to see the leadership and camaraderie that Ty and Barrett shared with their teammates both on and off the field during the 2020 season and we are excited to these outstanding young men as the 2020 Maxwell High School Players of the Year presented by adidas.”

In his final season at Mesquite High School, Thompson threw for 3,171 yards, 31 touchdowns, and rushed for 234 yards and eight touchdowns. He led his team to AAAA Arizona State Championships in both 2019 and 2020 and is ranked as the No. 9 overall prospect in the 2020 class.

The 6-foot-4, 215-pound quarterback adds the honor to a list of accolades that includes All American Bowl Offensive Player of the Year and the 2020 Ed Dougherty Award (Outstanding Player in Arizona). He was named to play in the All American Bowl earlier this month. 

Additional past winners of this award include: Will Grier (quarterback, played at West Virginia), Derrick Henry (running back, Alabama) and Trevor Lawrence (quarterback, Clemson). 


Read more on the Maxwell Football Club:

The addition of Thompson in the Oregon quarterback room make this an interesting competition to keep an eye on throughout the offseason, spring football and fall camp. 

Thompson joins Tyler Shough, Anthony Brown, Jay Butterfield, Robby Ashford, Bradley Yaffe and Cale Millen in competition for the starting role in 2021.