Oregon Ducks

Oregon Ducks

Another day, another honor for the G.O.A.T.

Oregon Ducks guard Sabrina Ionescu has been named a finalist for the prestigious James E. Sullivan Award, the Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) announced Monday.

The award recognizes the nation's most outstanding amateur athlete regardless of sport. Previous winners include Peyton Manning (1997), Michelle Kwan (2001), Michael Phelps (2003), J.J. Reddick (2005), Tim Tebow (2007) and Ezekiel Elliott (2014).

Voting for the award is open to the public at www.aausullivan.org. Finalist voting opened on Monday and will close on March 30, at 11:59 p.m.

If Ionescu wins she'd be the first winner in Oregon history and she's just the school's second-ever finalist joining former volleyball standout Liz Brenner (2012).

Sabrina has been collecting awards nonstop since the abrupt ending of the NCAA basketball season due to the coronavirus including being named the unanimous Associated Press women's national player of the year, First Team All-America, Pac-12 Player of the Year, and more. 

She's also the only player in college basketball history to record 2,000 career points, 1,000 career rebounds, and 1,000 career assists to go along with being the all-time record holder for college triple-doubles by a wide margin. 

Next up for Ionescu? The WNBA Draft where she's the heavy favorite to be on her way to the Big Apple after the New York Liberty selects her with the first-overall pick in the WNBA draft lottery.


As of now, the draft is still scheduled for April 17. But with the NBA shut down due to the coronavirus pandemic, it’s uncertain whether the draft will still take place.