OSU Beavers

Beavers MBB to play in Emerald Coast Classic

OSU Beavers

The Oregon State Beavers are heading to Florida for Thanksgiving.

It was announced on Tuesday that LSU, Oregon State, Penn State, and Wake Forest will headline the 2021 Emerald City Classic.

The tournament is scheduled to be played Nov. 26-27 on the campus of Northwest Florida State College. 

The Beavers will kick off their run on Nov. 26 at 6:30 pm with a game against the Wake Forest Demon Deacons.

[Listen to the latest Talkin’ Beavers Podcast!]

The third-place game will be played at 1 p.m. PT (3 p.m. CT) on Saturday, Nov. 27 with the championship game scheduled for a 4 p.m. PT (6 p.m. CT) tip on that Saturday.   According to Oregon State, "This will be the second-ever meeting between Oregon State and Wake Forest. The Demon Deacons won the first game, 94-74, on Nov. 28, 1977 on their home court when they were ranked No. 17 in the nation."   The Beavers are 1-0 all-time against Penn State and 1-5 all-time against LSU with the lone win coming on Nov. 26, 1963 at the Far West Classic in Portland (87-57).

“The reputation of our tournament has allowed us to continue to attract some of the top basketball programs in the country,” said Emerald Coast Classic tournament director Maury Hanks on the tournament's official website. “We continue to strive to bring the best college basketball teams possible to the Emerald Coast of Florida.”

 

For more tournament information visit www.emeraldcoastclassic.com.   Emerald Coast Classic Schedule (all times PST) Friday, Nov. 26 Penn State vs. LSU (4 p.m.) Oregon State vs. Wake Forest (6:30 p.m.)   Saturday, Nov. 27 Third-Place Game (1 p.m.) Championship Game (4 p.m.)