Portland Thorns, OL Reign Fall Series schedule released


For all you NWSL fans, more elite women’s soccer is headed your way!

On Thursday, the NWSL released the schedule across the league for four remaining games of the Fall Series.

According to the club’s website, the NWSL Fall Series will include 18 matches over the course of seven weeks, featuring three, three-team pods that will all play one another and enable the league to minimize travel. The three teams in each regional pod will each play four games.

West pod: OL Reign; Portland Thorns FC; Utah Royals FC

Northeast pod: Chicago Red Stars; Sky Blue FC; Washington Spirit

South pod: North Carolina Courage; Orlando Pride; Houston Dash

In fitting fashion, the star-studded northwest powerhouse of the Portland Thorns and OL Reign will open the series at Providence Park in Portland, Oregon. 

[Listen to the latest Talkin’ Blazers Podcast with hosts NBA Champion Channing Frye and Emmy Award winner Dan Sheldon with special guest Allie Clifton].

The Fall Series is the first match-play since the 2020 Challenge Cup in Utah from late June through mid July.

The Reign posted a 1-2-1 record in four games, but lost to the Chicago Red Stars in quarterfinal play on penalty kicks. The Thorns went 0-3-1 through four games but a huge 1-0 upset over the North Carolina Courage in the quarterfinals advanced them to a semifinal matchup and loss to the eventual champions Houston Dash.


You can catch the Thorns-Reign opener on CBS and CBS All-Access.