Portland Trail Blazers

Portland Trail Blazers

The Portland Trail Blazers announced Thursday before the Blazers and Nets tipped off in their final seeding game, that Carmelo Anthony has been named the recipient of the 2019-20 Maurice Lucas Award.

The award was presented to Anthony in Orlando by Trail Blazers president of basketball operations Neil Olshey and head coach Terry Stotts.

In the team’s press release, Olshey said, “Carmelo’s selfless attitude and leadership on and off the court make him an ideal recipient of this year’s Maurice Lucas Award,” while President & CEO of the Trail Blazers, Chris McGowan added, “Carmelo is an authentic leader both on and off the court and truly embodies what the Maurice Lucas award is about. His experience, knowledge, leadership and authenticity have been the perfect addition to the Trail Blazers and the city of Portland.”

[Listen to the latest Talkin’ Blazers Podcast with hosts Channing Frye and Dan Sheldon!]


The annual Maurice Lucas Award was created in the 2010-11 season to “honor the Trail Blazers player who best represents the indomitable spirit of Maurice Lucas through his contributions on the court and in the community, as well as in support of his teammates and the organization.”

Melo has selected the Social Change Fund for the Trail Blazers to make a $5,000 donation to the organization in recognition of the award.

In his 17th season, Anthony signed with the Trail Blazers back on November 19, 2019. The 36-year-old is averaging 15.5 points (43.1% FG, 38.7% 3-PT, 84.5% FT), 6.3 rebounds and 1.5 assists in 57 games (all starts). Anthony (26,437 career points) has moved up to 15th on the NBA all-time scoring list this season and ranks second among active players in career scoring.

Melo has made a huge impact both and off the court for the Blazers this season. In the NBA restart, he is averaging 17.6 points and 6.9 rebounds. 

Former Trail Blazers All-Star Maurice Lucas passed away on October 31, 2010 at the age of 58. A beloved member of the franchise and Rip City. "The Enforcer" was a central figure on the Trail Blazers' 1976-77 NBA Championship team. Portland retired Lucas’ No. 20 on November 4, 1988.


  • 2018-19 – Jusuf Nurkic
  • 2017-18 – Evan Turner
  • 2016-17 – Al-Farouq Aminu
  • 2015-16 – Ed Davis
  • 2014-15 – LaMarcus Aldridge
  • 2013-14 – Robin Lopez
  • 2012-13 – Damian Lillard
  • 2011-12 – Wesley Matthews
  • 2010-11 – LaMarcus Aldridge