Seahawks’ QB Russell Wilson nominated for Walter Payton Man of the Year award


Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson is among the other 32 finalists for the prestigious Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award.

Other notable names in the mix of the nominees include Bears tight end Jimmy Graham and Browns defensive end Myles Garrett.

The award itself has verb given out since 1970 and recognizes players for their excellence both off and on the field. 

For all 32 nominees, they will each receive a $40,000 donation to their charity of choice. The winner will get a $250,000 donation to the charity of their choice.

Subscribe to the Talkin' Seahawks podcast

There are currently six active players who have won the award. Those players are Drew Brees, Thomas Davis, Larry Fitzgerald, Jason Witten, J.J Watt, and Calais Campbell. 

Each of those players wears a Man of the Year jersey patch.

We will have to wait after the Super Bowl to see if Wilson wins this prestigious award.

This is the list of the nominees:

Arizona: Corey Peters

Atlanta: Steven Means

Baltimore: Bradley Bozeman

Buffalo: Harrison Phillips

Carolina: Shaq Thompson

Chicago: Jimmy Graham

Cincinnati: Geno Atkins

Cleveland: Myles Garrett

Dallas: Jaylon Smith

Denver: Justin Simmons

Detroit: Trey Flowers

Green Bay: Corey Linsley

Houston: Michael Thomas

Indianapolis: Jacoby Brissett

Jacksonville: Josh Lambo

Kansas City: Travis Kelce


Las Vegas: Alec Ingold

Los Angeles Chargers: Isaac Rochell

Los Angeles Rams: Andrew Whitworth

Miami: Byron Jones

Minnesota: Eric Kendricks

New England: Devin McCourty

New Orleans: Demario Davis

New York Giants: Dalvin Tomlinson

New York Jets: Pierre Desir

Philadelphia: Rodney McLeod

Pittsburgh: Vance McDonald

San Francisco: Arik Armstead

Seattle: Russell Wilson

Tampa Bay: Mike Evans

Tennessee: Kevin Byard

Washington: Jonathan Allen