Trail Blazers

Damian Lillard has been named a 2019-20 Magic Johnson Award finalist

Trail Blazers

Portland Trail Blazers five-time All-Star Damian Lillard has been named a finalist for the Pro Basketball Writers Association’s Magic Johnson Award. 

Lillard joins LeBron James, Khris Middleton, Donovan Mitchell and Kemba Walker as the other finalists for this year’s award. 

The annual award, which is said to “honor the player who best combines excellence on the basketball court with cooperation and dignity in dealing with the media and the public,” was first introduced in 2001.

Lillard won the 2016-17 Magic Johnson Award following a season in which he finished the regular season ranked sixth in the NBA scoring, while averaging 27.0 points per game, 4.9 rebounds and 5.9 assists.

Off the court, Lillard has continued to foster his mutual respect relationship with the media both locally in Portland and nationally.  

The PBWA is composed of over 200 writers and editors who cover the NBA on a regular basis writing for newspapers, digitally, and for magazines as well.

Magic Johnson Award winners:

  • 2000-01 Ray Allen, Milwaukee Bucks
  • 2001-02 Elton Brand, L.A. Clippers
  • 2002-03 Jalen Rose, Chicago Bulls
  • 2003-04 Jermaine O’Neal, Indiana Pacers
  • 2004-05 Antawn Jamison, Washington Wizards
  • 2005-06 Grant Hill, Orlando Magic
  • 2006-07 Shane Battier, Houston Rockets
  • 2007-08 Derek Fisher, Los Angeles Lakers
  • 2008-09 Brandon Roy, Portland Trail Blazers
  • 2009-10 Chris Bosh, Toronto Raptors
  • 2010-11 Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • 2011-12 Steve Nash, Phoenix Suns
  • 2012-13 Shane Battier, Miami Heat
  • 2013-14 Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas Mavericks
  • 2014-15 Pau Gasol, Chicago Bulls
  • 2015-16 Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors
  • 2016-17 Damian Lillard, Portland Trail Blazers
  • 2017-18 DeMar DeRozan, Toronto Raptors  
  • 2018-19 Dwyane Wade, Miami Heat