Trail Blazers

Damian Lillard wins PBWA’S 2019-20 Magic Johnson Award

Trail Blazers
Getty Images

The Professional Basketball Writers Association announced Wednesday morning that Trail Blazes five-time All-Star Damian Lillard has won the PBWA’s 2019-20 Magic Johnson Award.

This is the second time that Lillard has won the Magic Johnson Award after earning the honor for the 2016-17 season.

The PBWA created the Magic Johnson Award in 2001, which honors “the player who best combines excellence on the basketball court with cooperation and dignity in dealing with the media and the public,” according to the PBWA.  

Download and subscribe to the Talkin' Blazers Podcast

Last season, Lillard’s Bubble performance of 37.6 points and 9.6 assists per game during Portland’s eight seeding games while leading his team to the postseason spoke for itself.

While off the court, Lillard has continued to show respect and openness with the local and national media.

Other finalists for this year’s award were LeBron James, Khris Middleton, Donovan Mitchell, and Kemba Walker.


The Professional Basketball Writers Association is made up of more than 200 writers and editors who cover the NBA on a regular basis for newspapers, magazines, or online outlets. The members select the winner of the Magic Johnson Award through a vote.

The PBWA continues to regard Earvin ‘Magic’ Johnson as the ideal example for the award.

Magic Johnson Award past winners

  • 2000-01 Ray Allen, Milwaukee Bucks
  • 2001-02 Elton Brand, L.A. Clippers
  • 2002-03 Jalen Rose, Chicago Bulls
  • 2003-04 Jermaine O’Neal, Indiana Pacers
  • 2004-05 Antawn Jamison, Washington Wizards
  • 2005-06 Grant Hill, Orlando Magic
  • 2006-07 Shane Battier, Houston Rockets
  • 2007-08 Derek Fisher, Los Angeles Lakers
  • 2008-09 Brandon Roy, Portland Trail Blazers
  • 2009-10 Chris Bosh, Toronto Raptors
  • 2010-11 Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • 2011-12 Steve Nash, Phoenix Suns
  • 2012-13 Shane Battier, Miami Heat
  • 2013-14 Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas Mavericks
  • 2014-15 Pau Gasol, Chicago Bulls
  • 2015-16 Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors
  • 2016-17 Damian Lillard, Portland Trail Blazers
  • 2017-18 DeMar DeRozan, Toronto Raptors
  • 2018-19 Dwyane Wade, Miami Heat