Trail Blazers

Enes Kanter named 2020-21 Maurice Lucas award recipient

Trail Blazers

With 8,000 Trail Blazers fans in attendance for Game 3 of the First Round matchup between the Blazers and Nuggets, Portland's big man Enes Kanter was honored ahead of tip-off. 

The team announced before Game 3 got underway that Enes Kanter has been named the recipient of the 2020-21 Maurice Lucas Award.

Jody Allen, the chair of the Portland Trail Blazers, joined the team's President of Basketball Operations Neil Olshey and Portland’s head coach Terry Stotts at center court to present the award to Kanter.

Download and Subscribe to the Talkin' Blazers Podcast

The annual Maurice Lucas Award was created during the 2010-11 season to “honor the Trail Blazers player who best represents the indomitable spirit of Maurice Lucas through his contributions on the court and in the community, as well as in support of his teammates and the organization.”

Kanter is the 11th Trail Blazer to earn the honor.


  • 2019-20 Carmelo Anthony
  • 2018-19 – Jusuf Nurkic
  • 2017-18 – Evan Turner
  • 2016-17 – Al-Farouq Aminu
  • 2015-16 – Ed Davis
  • 2014-15 – LaMarcus Aldridge
  •  2013-14 – Robin Lopez
  • 2012-13 – Damian Lillard
  • 2011-12 – Wesley Matthews
  • 2010-11 – LaMarcus Aldridge

This season, Kanter has exemplified what it means to be a great teammate on and off the court. In 72 regular season games with 35 games as a starter, Kanter was Mr. Consistent for the Blazers. He averaged 11.2 points and 11.0 rebounds.   

The late Maurice Lucas is a beloved member of the franchise and Rip City. 'The Enforcer' was a central figure on the Trail Blazers' 1976-77 NBA Championship team. The team retired Lucas’ No. 20 on November 4, 1988.