Trail Blazers

How to watch Basketball Hall of Fame Ceremony for Tim Duncan

Trail Blazers
Tim Duncan

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame is about to get a little more crowded.

The Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2020, headlined by Kobe Bryant, Tim Duncan and Kevin Garnett, will finally be enshrined this weekend after last August’s originally scheduled ceremony was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

The induction ceremony will cap a two-day celebration of the nine-member 2020 class. Each legendary player, coach and executive being inducted is set to be presented by a current member, or members, of the Hall of Fame, of which there are expected to be over 50 in attendance.

This will be the first of two classes that are officially inducted into the Basketball Hall of Fame this year, with the Class of 2021 slated to be enshrined in September. The members of that class, for which there are 14 finalists, will be revealed this weekend as well.


Here's everything you need to know about the 2020 Basketball Hall of Fame induction ceremony:

When is the Basketball Hall of Fame induction?

The induction ceremony will take place on Saturday, May 15, at 5:30 p.m. ET.

The Hall of Fame Class of 2021 will be revealed on Sunday, May 16.

Where is the Basketball Hall of Fame induction ceremony?

The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame, located in Springfield, Mass., typically hosts the induction ceremony. Due to safety reasons amid the pandemic, the induction of the Class of 2020 has been moved to Mohegan Sun in Uncasville, Conn.

How can I watch the Basketball Hall of Fame induction?

NBA TV will broadcast Friday’s media availability live starting at 2 p.m. 

On Saturday, ESPN will air a taped version of the tip-off celebration and awards gala at 3:30 p.m. before going live for the start of the induction ceremony.

You can stream ESPN’s broadcast here.

Who is being inducted into the Basketball Hall of Fame?

Kobe Bryant: Bryant entered the NBA in 1996 as the 13th pick out of Lower Merion High School and left 20 seasons later as an icon and all-time great. The Black Mamba’s list of career accomplishments is dazzling: five-time NBA champion, two-time Finals MVP, one-time league MVP, 15 All-NBA selections (11 first team nods), 12 All-Defensive team selections, 15-time All-Star, four-time All-Star Game MVP and two-time scoring champ. He’s also fourth all time in points scored with 33,643. And every bucket came as a member of the Los Angeles Lakers.

Bryant will be posthumously inducted after he, his daughter Gigi and seven others died in a helicopter crash in January 2020. Bryant’s family chose Michael Jordan to be Kobe’s presenter. Jordan delivered a heart-wrenching speech at a memorial for Kobe and Gigi in February 2020.


Tim Duncan: Another player who wore just one uniform throughout his illustrious career, Duncan was one of the main pillars of the San Antonio Spurs’ dynasty. The No. 1 overall pick in the 1997 draft, Duncan captured five NBA championships, winning Finals MVP three times. He was a two-time league MVP and 15-time All-Star, and also earned 15 All-NBA selections (10 first team finishes) and 15 All-Defensive team nods over a 19-year career. 

The Big Fundamental is fifth all time in blocks (3,020), sixth in rebounds (15,091) and 15th in points (26,496). Former frontcourt mate David Robinson will be Duncan’s presenter.

Kevin Garnett: One of the fiercest competitors to ever play the game, Garnett was a force on the defensive end. The Big Ticket made 12 All-Defensive teams (nine first team selections), won the rebounding title four times and took home one Defensive Player of the Year award. His resume also includes one league MVP, nine All-NBA selections, 15 All-Star nods, one All-Star Game MVP and one of the greatest soundbites ever. KG ranks first all time in defensive rebounds (11,453) and ninth in total rebounds (14, 662). 

While he won his only NBA championship with the Boston Celtics, Garnett will be inducted as a member of the Minnesota Timberwolves, who drafted him fifth overall in 1995. Isiah Thomas will be presenting Garnett at the ceremony.

Eddie Sutton: Sutton is one of 10 men’s college basketball coaches with at least 800 career wins. He compiled an 806-329 record across 37 years at the major college level, coaching at Creighton, Arkansas, Kentucky, Oklahoma State and San Francisco. His teams reached the NCAA Tournament 25 times, with 11 Sweet 16 appearances and four trips to the Final Four. Sutton was the first coach to lead four different schools to the NCAA Tournament. He won AP Coach of the Year twice, Big 12 Coach of the Year once and SEC Coach of the Year once. 


Sutton died at the age of 84 in May 2020. Presenting Sutton will be John Calipari; Bill Self, who was an assistant under Sutton at Oklahoma State; and Sidney Moncrief, who played for Sutton at Arkansas.

Rudy Tomjanovich: Tomjanovich was a five-time All-Star as a player, but he’s going into the Hall as a coach. He coached the same franchise that he spent his entire playing career with, the Rockets, to back-to-back NBA championships in 1993-94 and 1994-95. That second championship team was a sixth seed, the lowest to ever win an NBA title. Tomjanovich also led Team USA to a gold medal in 2000. Calvin Murphy, a teammate of Tomjanovich in Houston, and Hakeem Olajuwon, who played for Tomjanovich, will present the Hall of Fame coach.

Tamika Catchings: A 10-time All-Star and one-time MVP, Catchings played her entire 15-year WNBA career with the Indiana Fever. The No. 3 pick in 2001, she ranks first on the WNBA’s all-time leaderboard in steals (1,074), third in points (7,380), third in rebounds (3,315), eighth in assists (1,488) and tied for ninth in games played (457). She also won four Olympic gold medals playing for Team USA. Catchings will be presented by Alonzo Mourning and Dawn Staley, a teammate of Catchings with Team USA.

Kim Mulkey: Over a 21-year run at Baylor, Mulkey coached the Lady Bears to three national titles, 21 combined Big 12 titles and 20 NCAA tournament berths. A two-time AP Coach of the Year and eight-time Big 12 Coach of the Year, Mulkey reached 600 career wins faster than any other Division I basketball coach. She left Baylor last month for the head coaching job at LSU. Michael Jordan will be presenting Mulkey in addition to Kobe Bryant.


Barbara Stevens: The fourth-winningest coach in women’s basketball history, Stevens is one of six to reach 1,000 wins. Most of her 1,034 career victories came during a 34-year tenure at Bentley, where she secured 31 D-II tournament berths, 14 regional championships, 37 combined Northeast-10 titles and 16 Northeast-10 Coach of the Year nods. UConn women’s head coach Geno Auriemma and former Notre Dame women’s head coach Muffet McGraw will present Stevens.

Patrick Baumann: Baumann spent 15 years as FIBA’s secretary general and 11 as a member of the International Olympic Committee. One of his main focuses was growing three-on-three basketball globally and pushing for it to be an Olympic sport -- and his efforts were successful with three-on-three basketball set to make its Olympic debut at this summer’s Tokyo games.

Baumann died at the age of 51 in 2018. He will be presented by former NBA deputy commissioner Russ Granik and Vlade Divac.