Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Team USA awards for Rio Olympics voting set to close

Team USA

RIO DE JANEIRO, BRAZIL - AUGUST 05: Michael Phelps of the United States carries the flag during the Opening Ceremony of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games at Maracana Stadium on August 5, 2016 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Voting for the U.S. Olympic Committee’s Team USA Awards honoring the best American performances of the Rio Games closes this weekend.

Voting is available here through 1:59 a.m. ET on Saturday morning. Online voting accounts for 50 percent of the overall tally. Olympic family members (media and national governing bodies) voting accounts for the other half.

Winners will be announced at the awards show Sept. 28 in Washington, D.C., one day after the Olympic and Paralympic teams will be honored at the White House.

The show will air on NBCSN on Oct. 4 from 10-11 p.m. ET.

The Olympic award nominees, who were announced before the Rio Olympic Closing Ceremony, are listed again here:

Female Athlete of the Olympics
Simone Biles, Gymnastics -- Four golds, one bronze
Gwen Jorgensen, Triathlon -- First U.S. Olympic triathlon champ
Katie Ledecky, Swimming -- Four golds, one silver
Helen Maroulis, Wrestling -- First U.S. Olympic women’s wrestling champ
Claressa Shields, Boxing -- First U.S. Olympic boxing champ at two Games

Male Athlete of the Olympics
Carmelo Anthony, Basketball -- First three-time U.S. Olympic men’s basketball champ
Matthew Centrowitz, Track and Field -- First U.S. Olympic 1500m champ since 1908
Connor Fields, Cycling – First U.S. Olympic BMX champ
Michael Phelps, Swimming -- Five golds, one silver
Kyle Snyder, Wrestling -- Youngest U.S. Olympic wrestling champ ever

Team of the Olympics
Women’s Basketball -- Won every game by 19 points or more
Women’s Gymnastics -- Won by largest margin under current scoring system
Women’s Rowing Eight -- Won 11th straight global title
Women’s Track 4x100m Relay -- Won in the second-fastest time ever
Women’s Water Polo -- Won every game by at least four goals

The Paralympic Female, Male and Team award voting will open Sept. 18, after the Rio Paralympics conclude.

MORE: Team USA Award winners from Sochi