Hurts an MVP finalist; other Eagles snubbed for AP awards


Eagles quarterback Jalen Hurts is officially a finalist for the Associated Press MVP award.

Hurts, 24, is one of five finalists for the award after an impressive 2022 season, jus his second as a full-time starter in the NFL.

Here are the finalists in alphabetical order:

  • Josh Allen
  • Joe Burrow
  • Jalen Hurts
  • Justin Jefferson
  • Patrick Mahomes

Hurts is also one of three finalists for the AP Offensive Player of the Year award, along with Jefferson and Mahomes.

The last Eagle to win the MVP award was quarterback Norm Van Brocklin in 1960. But Hurts put together a really impressive resume this season.

In 15 games, Hurts completed 66.5% of his passes for 3,701 yards with 22 touchdowns and 6 interceptions. He had a passer rating of 101.5. But he also did it with his legs, rushing for 760 yards with 13 rushing touchdowns.

The Eagles were 14-1 with Hurts as a starter during the regular season and were 0-2 with him on the bench. In a way, the Eagles’ failure to win a game with Gardner Minshew at quarterback against the Cowboys and Saints strengthens Hurts’ MVP candidacy.

But those other four finalists put together strong seasons too. And, remember, this is a regular season award:

Josh Allen: (13-3) 63.3%, 4,283 yards, 35 TDs, 14 INTs; 762 rushing, 7 TDs

Joe Burrow: (12-4) 68.3%, 4,475 yards, 35 TDs, 12 INTs; 257 rushing, 5 TDS

Jalen Hurts: (14-1) 66.5%, 3,701, 22 TDS, 6 INTS; 760 rushing, 13 TDs

Justin Jefferson: 128 receptions, 1,809 yards, 8 TDs

Patrick Mahomes: (14-3) 67.1%, 5,250 yards, 41 touchdowns, 12 INTs; 358 rushing, 4 TDs

Based on his AP All-Pro nod, Mahomes seems like the clear favorite to win the award this season. Hurts was named to the second team.

While Hurts got some love as an MVP candidate, two other Eagles could be considered snubs for other awards (and Nick Sirianni was snubbed for Coach of the Year). Haason Reddick was not named a finalist for the Defensive Player of the Year award and Brandon Graham was not named a finalist for the Comeback Player of the Year award.


The finalist for DPOY: Nick Bosa, Micah Parsons, Chris Jones

The finalists for Comeback Player: Saquon Barkley, Christian McCaffrey, Geno Smith

Reddick put together a strong season in 2022 with 16 sacks in 17 games. He also had 5 forced fumbles and 26 quarterback hits. He was named to the Pro Bowl for the first time in his career.

And Graham returned this season at 34 years old and coming off an Achilles tear that ended his 2021 season in the second game. All Graham did this season was set a career high in sacks with 11 as a rotational player.

Subscribe to the Eagle Eye podcast

Apple Podcasts | Google Play | Spotify | Stitcher | Art19 | Watch on YouTube