Updated: 7:02 p.m.
CHICAGO — Apparently, the refs were right?
It was a strange circumstance at the end of the first half, when the officials ruled a deep ball to Anthony Miller incomplete after Cre’Von LeBlanc ripped the ball free.
There was a review and the official on the field said there was no clear recovery, so the ruling would stand. That seems strange, because that basically admits it’s a completed pass but the ball doesn’t advance. It’s almost sounds like,”Hey, we don’t know what to do here, so forget it ever happened.”
But apparently that was the correct call:
From the casebook regarding incomplete passes reversed to catch/fumble, the third paragraph has the relevant information: pic.twitter.com/TQizOr7ZFP— Fᴏᴏᴛʙᴀʟʟ Zᴇʙʀᴀs (@footballzebras) January 6, 2019
Instant replay was correct in staying with incomplete pass. In order to go from incomplete to catch and fumble is if there is a clear recovery by either team or if the ball goes out of bounds. Case book plays 15.114 and 15.115.— Mike Pereira (@MikePereira) January 6, 2019
“If there is no video evidence of a clear recovery or the ball goes out of bounds, the ruling of incomplete stands," the casebook reads.
The Bears ended up kicking a field goal at the end of the first half to take a 6-3 lead into the locker room. Strange play.
Here's the official ruling from the NFL:
“In #PHIvsCHI, the receiver controlled the ball with two feet down & took an additional step, so it was a catch. However, because he was not down by contact & there was ‘no video evidence of a clear recovery or the ball going out of bounds’, the ruling of incomplete stands.” - AL pic.twitter.com/c0E00tOZwT— NFL Officiating (@NFLOfficiating) January 6, 2019
Click here to download the MyTeams App by NBC Sports! Receive comprehensive coverage of your teams and stream the Flyers, Sixers and Phillies games easily on your device.