Flyers announce winners of their 2020-21 team awards


Prior to the club's 2020-21 season finale Monday night, the Flyers announced the winners of their team awards:

Here's who took home honors:

Sean Couturier — Bobby Clarke Trophy (Flyers MVP — selected by sportswriters and sportscasters)

The Flyers' alpha dog down the middle won his third straight team MVP award. The last Flyer to win it in three consecutive seasons was Eric Lindros (1993-96).

This season, it seemed like it would come down between Couturier and Claude Giroux.

Despite missing 10 games earlier in the season because of a costochondral separation, Couturier entered Monday's last hurrah second on the team in goals with 17 and fourth in points with 39.

Couturier, who had the costochondral separation and a hip issue, as well, led all Flyers forwards in minutes per game.

Ivan Provorov — Barry Ashbee Trophy (Most outstanding defenseman — selected by sportswriters and sportscasters)

Provorov was a rock on the team's back end, which lacked stability after Matt Niskanen's retirement.

Sure, Provorov didn't have the best season for his standards, but he once again led the Flyers in minutes per game (25:02 entering Monday), didn't miss a game (he has an ironman streak of 371 going back to his NHL debut) and had a positive plus-minus (plus-3 entering Monday) for a team that allowed the NHL's most goals per game.

James van Riemsdyk — Yanick Dupre Class Guy Award (Presented to the Flyer who best illustrates character, dignity and respect both on and off the ice — selected by Philadelphia chapter of PHWA)

Van Riemsdyk had one of the most productive 2020-21 seasons among the Flyers and is a real pro on and off the ice. He absolutely fits the description above.

Joel Farabee — Pelle Lindbergh Memorial Trophy (Most improved — selected by teammates)

The 21-year-old was the Flyers' biggest bright spot in a season that fell well short of expectations.


Farabee entered Monday with a team-leading 18 goals to go along with 36 points after putting up eight goals and 21 points over 52 games as a rookie last season.

Sean Couturier — Gene Hart Memorial Award (Player with the most “heart” — selected by Philadelphia Flyers Fan Club)

Couturier earned this honor for the third time in his career. Definitely worthy of it given his competitiveness and will to win, in all circumstances.

Subscribe to and rate Flyers Talk

Apple Podcasts | Spotify | Stitcher | Art19 | YouTube